Billingborough thrash Sleaford

South Lincolnshire and Border League

ALTHOUGH defending champions Billingborough are virtually certain to have to settle for runners-up spot in Division One this time they still put in another commanding performance to inflict a heavy defeat on Sleaford 2nd XI.

Batting first, Sleaford struggled against the Billingborough attack and lasted just over 20 overs, bowled out for a low score of 47. Ben Lambert (20) and Ben Wooster (10) were the only two batsmen to reach double figures.

Geordie Scott (5 for 20) and David Galllop (4 for 24) cut a swathe through the Sleaford batting. Scott now has 865 runs and 39 wickets to his name this season.

In stark contrast, Billingborough knock off the required runs in one ball under six overs, with Andrew Wilson undefeated on 32.

n Five centuries were scored in the South Lincolnshire & Border League as batsmen made runs in the sunshine.

One of those was scored by Ansar Hussain, who made 106 for Spalding to leave his team needing just two points from their final game to clinch the Division One title.

Darren Bradbury’s unbeaten 102 ensured that Welby remain undefeated as they continue to dominate Division Two.


Division One

Woodhall Spa 2nd 207, Skegness 2nd 122-9; Lindum Ramblers 181-9 (Watkin 61, Forbes 5-27), Belton Park 105 (M Benson 5-26); Grantham 147 (Mudie 72), Moulton Harrox 148-6 (Barnett 95no); Bourne 2nd 214-5 (T Bentley 100no), Stamford Town 178-8; Spalding 346-6 (Hussain 106, M Kearns jnr 52, C Kearns 62), Market Deeping 2nd 64; Sleaford 2nd 47 (Scott 5-20), Billingborough 49-0

Division Two

Cavaliers 166-9 (Dale 54), Billingborough 2nd 169-7 (Duncan 65); Thomas Cook 133-8, Blankney 137-3 (B Hargrave 53); Stamford Town 2nd 188-9 (Birch 52), Boston 2nd 98; Welby 204-7 (Bradbury 102no), Spalding 2nd 72; Moulton Harrox 189-9 
(Beale 73, M Barnett 70, Lamin 5-47), Baston 84

Division Three

Welby 2nd 204-8 (Meadows 86), Timberland 205-5 (King 69); Boston 3rd 204-6 (Gridling 61), Grantham 2nd 96; Friskney 305-2 (Griffiths 126no, Baxter 75, M Troops 68), Burgh & District 209 (Underwood 100, Sharp 51); Pinchbeck 177, Claypole 173