Burnett is new county champion

editorial image

SLEAFORD golfer James Burnett has won the 2012 Lincolnshire Amateur Golf Championship at Torksey Golf Club.

In the first round, James carded a fine 64, seven under par, to set a new course record. He followed that with a second round 68. His 10 under par total was enough to win the championship, seven shots clear of Richard Latham from Woodhall.

n The Ladies’ Captain’s Day at Sleaford Golf Club was a great success thanks to Liz Drayton and her band of helpers, who ensured the day went well.

The winner was Wendy Lawson with 37 points while in the Silver section Sue Pick, on 34, beat Avril Leitch on count-back, with Sheila Dewsnap taking third place.

In the Bronze section, Pauline Green was first with 36, five points clear of runner-up Madeline Fenemore, on 31. Sally Downey finished third on 30.

In the men’s section, the ever improving Chris Campbell took first place with an excellent 44, while in the 0-14 handicap section, Graham Smith, on 40, beat Tom Collyer on count-back, with Brian Sylvester taking third place.

In the 15-28 section, Michael Edleston won with 37, with Michael Harrison and Ian Ward taking the minor places. The Junior competition saw Rhys Hodder take the honours with 37, ahead of Liam Orley, second on 36 and Conor Thompson and Michael Bains, who were third and fourth.

n The EWGA Mountain Cup was won by Kathleen Beeton with a net 72 off her 27 handicap 99-27-72. In second place was Sadie Marshall on 74 (103-29).

n The EWGA Kefford Cup was won by Sue Palmer on net 70 (85-15), who beat Eveline Haylor on count-back.

n The Medal competition saw Di Grocock take the honours with a gross 77 (net 71), with Sue Pick 75 (88-13) in second place.

n In the bogey-par Turnbull Cup, Gina Pickworth finished on plus 2 to take first place, beating Ann Lyon, who took second place on a count-back with plus 1.

n Members of the senior section of Sleaford Golf club have been braving the weather with a series of matches against local clubs.

Away to Spalding they lost 5 matches to 3. Winning pairs were Pat Flemming and Mike Rushby, Clive Boyfield and Frank Wykes and Hugh Court and David Swaithe.

In the home fixture against Melton Mowbray, Sleaford again suffered a 5 matches to 3 defeat. Des Heyes and Richard Higgs, Bob Braban and Tony Blythe won their games, while Mark Huskinson and Ken Coupland and Keith Appleyard and David Lowe halved theirs.

Yet another 5 matches to 3 defeat was suffered at the hands of Toft. On this occasion George Collier and Frank Wykes, Bob Braban and Peter Elliott and Phil Hilton and Derek Dann were the winning pairs.

n The men’s June medal was won by Neil Pinfold with a fine net 65 off a handicap of 16.

In Division One, Paul Foulkes took first place with 67 (74-7); with Josh Taylor second on 68 (73-5). Mike Johnson, John Sabin and Tony Williams took the minor places.

In Division Two, Dave Boyfield on 70 (86-16) was second, with Ray Green in third place.