Double success for Rachel

RACHEL Woodcock won the Lady Captain’s prize at Blankney Golf Club with a score of 35 points.

The prize for players with handicaps of 17 and below went to June Harvey on 34, on a count back from Mandy Horne, also on 34, with Flick Felton (31).

In the section for handicaps 18 to 23, Marita Thompson took first prize with 32 points, ahead of Sheena Jamieson and Joan Bows, both on 31.

Jane Grieves came first in the handicaps 24 to 36 section on 31, with Mal Hollingsworth second on 30 and Pat Mundy third with 28.

The prizes for nearest the pin went to Mandy Horne on the seventh, to June Mullen on the 10th and to Jess Wilcox on the 13th, while the prizes for nearest the white line on the 18th were won by Josie Dixon (bronze) and Audrey Bryant (silver).

n Blankney’s annual ladies’ Club Championship and Endeavour Trophy were a closely fought contested.

The championship was played over 36 holes, with Rachel Woodcock the winner after scoring a two-round gross of 158. Second was Jules Palmer with 163 and third Maggie Muir on 171.

The Endeavour Trophy went to Jules Palmer with a net 141. She was four clear of runner-up Maggie Muir on net 145, with Flick Felton (146) third and Rikki Czajkowski (151) fourth.

The over 55 trophy was won by Maggie Muir with a gross 171 and in second place was Flick Felton, who donated the trophy, on 172.

n The annual Open Texas Scramble at Blankney attracted a huge field of 200.

The overall winners were Jan Heywood, Sheena Jamieson, Maggie Muir and Coral Earney (Blankney) with a net 63 on count back from Mairead Scott, Lorraine Robinson, Helen Roscoe and Margaret Dair, from Toft.

Third were Rikki Czajkowski, Caroline Mattock (Blankney), Moira Carr and Renee Robertshaw (Carholme) on 63.6 (70-6.4). Helena Banks, Julia Bennett Anne Edwards, Ruth Rickett (Thorney Lakes) were fourth with 63.9 (72-8.1); with Margaret Williams, Sandy Dilworth, Ruth Howdle (Kenwick) and Sheila Green (Louth) fifth on 64.2 (75-10.8) and Pat Clifton, Barbara Unwin, Yvonne Wright and Ann Hodgson (Boston) sixth with 64.3 (74-9.7).

n Winner of the British Heart Trophy was Sheena Jamieson with a net 75 (93-18). Karen Cox was second on 76 (91-15), Pat Mundy third, also on 76 (104-28) and Carole Kelly was fourth with 77 (98-21).