Thompson is king of the hills

Sleaford Wheelers Cycling Club

The annual hill climb was the final event of a successful season for Sleaford Wheelers.

Andy Howett was hoping to capitalise on last year’s club record but, despite turning in a time of 2 minutes 49 seconds he was forced into second place by George Thompson who won the event by eight seconds.

Full result: George Thompson 2.41, Andrew Howett 2.49, Darren Jessop 3.05, Stuart McKellar 3.16, Nick Millward 3.29, Richard Horton 3.41, Michael Hespley 3.43, Chris Close 3.46, John Scott 4.15.

The Wheelers are now concentrating on maintaining fitness throughout the winter, ready for next season.

If anyone would like to join club members and keep themselves fit over the winter, spinning sessions are running every Thursday evening from 7.30pm at Osbournby Village Hall.

For more details go to the club’s website at