Wheelers in team prize honour

editorial image

THE recent Nev Crane Memorial 25 mile Time Trial confirmed its place as the top club open time trial to be held on Lincolnshire roads.

It attracted a record entry of 115 cyclists, with 35 clubs represented, 22 of which were from outside of the county.

The course was from Donington to Quarrintgton roundabout via Osbournby and returning to Donington and the event did not go without incident.

About an hour in a coach lost a rear wheel blocking the east bound carriageway of the A52, but riders were able to get through with care. When the police shut the road between Osbournby roundabout and Swaton crossroads, riders were guided through, allowing the event to continue.

The event was won by South Pennine Road Club rider James Tucker, who recorded a superb time of 52 minutes 39 seconds, just over a minute off the course and event record, making it the second best time ever recorded on this course.

Pre-race favourite Jim Coleman, from Witham Wheelers, was second in another fine time of 53-10, while Julian Gromett (Cottingham Couriers) was third in 55-28.

Top ride by a junior came from Peterborough rider Kristian Woolf (Prestige Velo Club), who was sixth fastest in 55-55.

Best performance by a juvenile came from Reece Egner (Witham Wheelers), who completed the ride in 1-05-48. Leading female rider was Charlotte Colclough (For Viord), from Frieston, who clocked 1-03-35, and the quickest veteran was fourth placed rider Ian Dalton (Cherry Valley Racing Team) in 55-30.

Best placed Sleaford Wheeler was Jim Boyle, who came seventh with a time of 55-58.

Times for other Sleaford Wheelers were: James Hedley-Smith 58-13; George Thompson 58-14 (second junior); Ian Pike 59-08; Darren Jessop 59-48; Richard Hamblin 1-01-51; Jake Clare 1-03-24; Andrew Howett 1-03-27; Dennis Owen 1-04-16; Richard Horton 1-04-33; Malcolm Yates 1-05-13; Nick Millward 1-07-28; Henry Thompson 1-07-57 (second juvenile); Dave Pike 1-09-16; John Scott 1-10-45; Chris Close 1-11-23; Russell Newman 1-13-28.

It was the first time Sleaford Wheelers have had five riders inside the hour for the distance in the same event.

The team award was based on the aggregate of the times of the fastest three riders and it was host club Sleaford Wheelers who took the honours with the times of Boyle, Hedley-Smith and George Thompson, providing an aggregate time of 2-52-25, just three seconds ahead of Witham Wheelers.

The Nev Crane Memorial Trophy was won by Boyle as the quickest rider from Sleaford Wheelers.

The event was sponsored by Chandlers-Mitsubishi of Belton, the Solo Club of Sleaford and Pedal Pushers of Grantham and the prizes were presented by Jean Crane.