Winning golfers to be awarded for ‘excellent’ scores

A presentation evening will be taking place on Friday, December 14, and organisers have said there have been some excellent scores this year.

Winners of the Winchelsea Cup were Karl Kinsella and Darren Linfitt who beat James Offer and Steven Newell in the final.

The foursomes Hopper Cup was won by Richard Burnett and Phil Coote.

The fourball better-ball Saul Cup was won by David Brownlow and Martin Orley, beating Jimmy Smith and Kev Blow.

The mixed knock-out was won by Geoff Burnett and Celia Collinge.

The Scratch Trophy was won by James Burnett.

The singles Presidents Trophy was won by Dave Quinn who overcame Mick Walton.

In the Money Cup, Paul Carpenter defeated Richard Burnett and in The Vinter Cup, Kevin Parker beat Jack Flatters.

There were 180 male golfers in the November Medal and Stableford competitions where Ben Burrows had a net 64 off his 15 handicap, beating Wayne Banton and Mark Melroy with net 65’s.

In Division one, Mark Kyme, Mike Brown and Geoff Burnett took the first three places. The scoring was equally impressive in the Stableford Competition with Chris Green taking first place with 45pts playing off his 14 handicap.

Dave Burrows and Darren Linfitt took second and third places in Division Two.

Also in Division One, John Bell scored 43pts to take first place, with Andy Thomas, Peter Lamming, Steve Rust and Rob Cumming all scoring 39’s.

The Ladies Winter Wonderland Texas Scramble was won by Debbie Smith with 39pts. In second place was Di Grocock with 32.

The Ladies November Stableford was won by Hayley Taylor, scoring 34 points with lady president Sally Downey in second place with 32.

The Winter Ladies Invitation Texas Scramble was won by a team including Gill Lamming, Celia Collinge and Stella Goldstein with a very good 61pts.

The Senior section continue to battle the elements and Des Heyes and Clive Boyfield were victorious in The Bert Gillett Trophy with 44pts.

In second place were Peter Budd and Don Donovan with 43pts, and John Keal and Hugh Court with 42.

In the Seniors Mixed Jolly, Tony Masters and Pauline Green beat David Swaithe and Hayley Taylor on a countback, each scoring 45pts. Clive Boyfield and Joan Carpenter took third place with 44.