Boundary review for Lincolnshire County Council wards

Lincolnshire County Council offices in Lincoln. EMN-150909-170439001
Lincolnshire County Council offices in Lincoln. EMN-150909-170439001

Further consultation is taking place in North Kesteven on proposals to amend electoral divisions of Lincolnshire County Council.

The Boundary Commission for England is undertaking a review of the number of county councillors, and where the division boundaries fall, in order to achieve a level of representation averaging 8,000 electors per councillor.

A spokesman for North Kesteven District Council said: “During consultation on its draft recommendations, the commission received alternative suggestions which it now wants to consider in order to achieve a fair spread across 11 single-member divisions to cover the North Kesteven district.”

The suggested changes, in terms of where the boundaries fall and which communities are grouped with, relate to:

Dunston moving out of Metheringham Rural into Potterhanworth and Coleby Division; the dividing line as to which parts of Washingborough and Heighington villages fall into the Washingborough or Potterhanworth and Coleby divisions; Holdingham coming out of the Sleaford Division into Ruskington RAF Cranwell, and part of Cranwell parish moving from the Ruskington Division into the Metheringham Rural Division.

The spokesman added: “The aim is to deliver a pattern of divisions which reflect the interests, identities and commonality of communities, and ensure councilors represent a similar number of voters.”

l To comment on these proposals email reviews@lg by June 6.