Preparing for a by-election - are you registered to vote?


Voters within North Kesteven District Council’s Ashby de la Launde and Cranwell Ward have until Tuesday, March 1 to ensure they are registered to vote in the forthcoming by-election.

With three candidates contesting the seat, there will be an election on Thursday, March 17, to fill the vacancy caused by the death of the late Councillor Geoffrey Whittle.

They are: Steve Clegg of Westgate, Sleaford as a Lincolnshire Independent; Luke Mitchell of Berry Close, Sleaford, as a Conservative and Claire Louise Newton of Sleaford Road, Cranwell, as a Liberal Democrat.

Residents living within the parishes covering Ashby de la Launde, Scopwick and Kirkby Green, Dorrington, Digby, Rowston, Bloxholm, Brauncewell, Byard’s Leap, Temple Bruer and Cranwell, as well as RAF Cranwell, are all able to vote in this election – so long as they are registered to do so.

Deadline for receiving applications for registration from voters within the ward is 5pm, Tuesday, March 1.

Register at or through the NKDC Elections Team on 01529 414155.

Deadline for receiving new postal vote and postal proxy applications, and for changes to existing postal or proxy votes is 5pm, Wednesday, March 2, via the same contact points.

Registering to vote at this stage also ensures those electors are also able to participate in the Lincolnshire Police and Crime Commissioner election on May 5 and the forthcoming EU Referendum on June 23.

It is especially important to ensure you are registered if you have moved into or within the district within the last year.