FOOTBALL: Team of the month Sleaford Town Reserves take a well-earned rest

editorial image

Sleaford Town Reserves were without a game on Saturday was it was quarter-finals day in the Balcan Lighting Supplies Lincolnshire League Supplementary Cup.

The hiatus gave the Greens’ second string a brief rest and gave them time to savour the league’s January Team of the Month accolade which was presented to them last week.

A Jacob Wilson hat-trick helped Cleethorpes Town Development Squad avenge a recent league defeat at Horncastle Town to deny The Wongers a place in the last four.

The biggest surprise of the day was arguably at Skegness Town, where the Lilywhites were dumped out of the competition on penalties by Lincoln Railway AFC.

Wyberton’s Elliott Pogson scored a brace of goals as the villagers overcame Brigg Town Reserves at The Causeway, while Hykeham Town eased their way into the last four with a comfortable win over CGB Humbertherm.

Market Rasen Town came out on top in the only league fixture played.

They came back from behind to beat Skegness United at the seaside and at the same time put a point between themselves and bottom club Ruston Sports.

Supplementary Cup:

Horncastle Town 2

Cleethorpes Town Development Squad 4

Horncastle trailed 2-1 at the interval, despite carving out a number of excellent chances.

The visitors gained the one-goal advantage when they struck late in the half.

Horncastle never really recovered from this setback and the seasiders went on to claim their semi-final spot.

Jacob Wilson was their goal hero with a hat-trick, while Simon Ballard chipped in with the other goal.

Horncastle’s goals came from Richard Jackson and Luke Blondell.

Hykeham Town 4

CGB Humbertherm 0

Holders Hykeham Town reached the semi-finals of this year’s competition when they brushed aside the challenge from Fulstow-based GCB Humbertherm.

Callum Chapman scored a brace, while Steve Mehta and Chris Funnell grabbed one apiece.

Skegness Town 1

Lincoln Railway 1 aet

(Railway won 3-2 on penalties)

Lincoln Railway AFC won a penalty shoot-out to progress to the last four.

Goalkeeper Josh Desforges was their hero, saving two of the spot kicks during the drama at Burgh Road.

After a goalless first half, Town took the lead on the hour through McCauley Parker, who curled a free kick round the defensive wall and into the top corner.

Liam Bradley grabbed an equaliser to send the game into extra time.

Desforges pulled off a string of good saves to deny the seasiders and so penalties were needed to separate the two sides.

Having already failed twice in the shoot-out Skegness needed to convert their fifth penalty to give themselves a chance, but Desforges dived to his right to save Liam Parker’s spot kick and spark the visitors’ celebrations.

Wyberton 4

Brigg Town Reserves 1

Wyberton went some way towards avenging the league defeat inflicted by Brigg Town’s second string seven days earlier when they beat their 10-man opponents at The Causeway.

Elliott Pogson scored twice, Curtis Revell was also on target and there was an own goal as Wyberton romped home 4-1.

Adam Gowing scored the Brigg consolation.


Skegness United 2

Market Rasen Town 3

Lewis King scored twice for Rasen as they came back from behind to take the three points at Skegness United.

It was 1-1 at the interval with Tom Pickett’s goal being cancelled out by the visitors.

But the home side took the lead when Jake Portas stroked home a penalty after a teammate had been dragged down in the box.

Rasen were under the cosh at this point, but they bounced back to strike twice and turn the game on its head.

Skipper Joe Osbourne was Rasen’s other scorer.

Results: Skegness United 2 Market Rasen Town 3; Supplementary Cup – Horncastle Town 2 Cleethorpes Town DS 4, Hykeham Town 4 CGB Humbertherm 0, Skegness Town 1 Lincoln Railway AFC 1 aet (Lincoln Railway won 3-2 on penalties), Wyberton 4 Brigg Town Reserves 1.

Fixtures: Brigg Town Reserves v Skegness United, CGB Humbertherm v Ruston Sports, Horncastle Town v Sleaford Town Reserves, Hykeham Town v Cleethorpes Town DS, Market Rasen Town v Skegness Town, Wyberton v Lincoln Railway AFC.