CYCLING: Sleaford rider remembered in annual memorial time trial

Matt Sinclair with some of the numerous prize winners.
Matt Sinclair with some of the numerous prize winners.

A GB international rider in the late 1950s and early 1960s, who for 40 years ran a successful cycle business in Southgate, was remembered when the Sleaford Wheelers that he helped to resurrect in 1965 held the 10th anniversay of the Nev Crane Memorial 25-mile time trial.

The event was held on an out and back course from west of Donington to Quarrington roundabout and attracted a record entry of 136 riders. A warm and sunny morning with a light westerly wind suggested that

there would be some good times recorded.

The riders departed the timekeeper at one minute intervals. Top riders were seeded at five minute intervals with the likely winner coming from the back end of the field.

Early starter John Pilgrim (Witham Wheelers) came home in a quick time of 56min 56sec, shortly followed by Antony Gough (Velo-One Cycling Team) with 55:28. Eventually, Matt Sinclair (Lutterworth (Cycle Centre) emerged victorious, returning a super fast time of 51:43.

Local riders put on good performances too with Sarah King, who rides for Port Sunlight Wheelers,winning the fastest lady award with a time of 1:02:00. Top juvenile was Thomas Howes (Sleaford Wheelers) in 1:13:47.

Other Sleaford Wheelers times: Richard Hamblin 56:10, Jim Boyle 56:27, George Thompson 57:27, Jack Parsons 59:35, Richard Yates 1:00:39, Andy Cole 1:03:14, Thomas Trimble 1:04:08, Rod Weston 1:06:16, Dave Smith 1:06:49, Dave Ashley 1:07:45, Andy Sowden 1:08:02, Stuart McKellar 1:09:3, Heather Riddell 1:09:43, Chris Close 1:10:20, 14 Vicky Clarke 1:12:18, Kathryn Smith 1:12:20, Gareth Wheelwright 1:13:32, Thomas Howes 1:13:47, Kevan Woollas 1:17:15, Seth Parrott 1:27:20, Samuel Howes 1:28:38. Also taking part were Tri3 Sleaford Triathlon Club members Simon Jackson (1:06:05) and June

Jackson (1:16:58).