Hamblin wins


Sleaford Wheelers kicked off their golden anniversary season with the 22-mile Early Hilly Time Trial - and Richard Hamblin got his season off to a perfect start in difficult blustery conditions on the North Rauceby circuit.

He won the event in a time of 56 minutes 23 seconds, with Mike Hespley (1.02.08) second and Stuart McKellar (1.02.30) third.

Times for other Sleaford Wheelers were: Dave Smith (1.04.30); Jon Riddell (1.04.47): Micheal Browning (1.08.00); Maxim Burrows (1.08.50); Heather Riddell (1.11.47); Paul Burrows (1.14.39); Kevan Woollas (1.25.49); Ian Paul (1.29.17).

Private trials: Martin Smith (58.25): Neil Sentence (1.04.42); John Scott (1.18.02).

Wheelers were in action again on Sunday for the Early 10, setting off from Silk Willoughby.