Time trial attracts a record entry


There was a record entry for Sleaford Wheelers’ annual charity 10-mile time trial on Easter Sunday.

A total of 129 riders lined up for the event, which took place on a circuit along the A15 between Quarrington and Osbournby roundabouts.

Neil Palmer (Spalding CC) was the first to break the 22 minute barrier, coming in with a time of 21 minutes 53 seconds.

Forty minutes later, Alexander Coleman (Arrow Cycles) went top in 21:50. Shortly after, Jamie Haines (Melton Olympic) pipped that with a time of 21:49, before Ian Guilor (Mapperley CC) set an excellent time of 21:34 to top the leaderboard.

Although there were still some quality riders to come, nobody could beat Guilor’s time.

But there were good performances from John Brearley (City RC Hull), 22:13, Robby Krygsman (Team Swift), 22:10, and Lee Tunnicliffe (Clay Cross RT), 21:55.

Fastest of the 13 ladies taking part was local rider Sarah King, who rides for Port Sunlight Wheelers. She completed the course in 24:22.

Top junior was Reece Egner (Witham Wheelers), in 22:20, and best juvenile was his younger brother Adam with 25:35.

Fastest of the Sleaford Wheelers was Richard Hamblin, who finished 12th in 22:31. Times for other Sleaford Wheelers: Dave Smith 25:11, Michael Hepsley 25:18, Stuart McKellar 25:39, Jon Riddell 25:58, Andrew Cole 26:10, Chris Close 26:55, Dave Ashley 27:06, Kathryn Smith 28:21, Nigel Hurst 28:35, Duncan Tittley 28:40, Heather Riddell 28:40, Dave Pike 28:42, Paul Durnin 29:39, Gareth Wheelwright 30:20, Kevin Woollas 32:39 and Linda Foster 33:38.

Tri3 Sleaford Tri Club were also involved, with Neil Dowsett their quickest rider in 25:17. Other times were: Andrew Stevens 27:19, Matt Craven 27:31, Royston Higdon 28:07 and Phillip Roberts 30:57.

Prizes were donated by Jean Crane, widow of the late Nev Crane, co-founder of Sleaford Wheelers, and a cheque for £1142 presented to Sue Watson, of Cancer Research UK, by Nev’s daughter Linda Foster.